top of page

peace in the Lord.

Say "Hello" to my friend Hannah!


Hannah and I became friends in high school, and while God has taken us on different paths, it's so cool to hear about how He is working in her life. Hannah is a senior in college and has dealt with her fair share of stress throughout her college experience. Life can be stressful and it is easy to feel hopeless, but Hannah reminds us that turning to God in times of stress and anxiety lifts our spirits and encourages our hearts.


Hannah & I on the National Honors Society Chicago trip back in high school!

 

It’s no lie that this time of the year is always stressful for students - especially college students. Among summer jobs or internships ending, saying goodbye to family and friends back home, moving into school, starting a new semester with new challenges; it’s hard to stay sane during these transition weeks.


I won’t lie and say that I had an easy transition back to school myself. I had 20 straight days without a break. Each day was spent in class, working, or moving into my apartment. Throughout those 20 days almost everything that could go wrong, did go wrong: new credit card wasn’t working, computer problems, my keys to my new apartment weren’t working, and worst of all: no hot water for 9 day straight. Having to deal with all these issues without a break and no ability to take a warm shower really wears on a person. There were many times within the past couple of weeks where I have felt helpless.


National Honors Society Co-Treasurers

What I have learned through experience, bible studies, and meditation classes is it is easy to turn away from your faith and turn into your problems because they seem all-consuming; it is easy to let the helplessness and stress wash over you and take control of your life. It is more than okay to feel helpless, to feel stressed, and to feel overwhelmed during times like these, and it’s actually good to feel those emotions in healthy amounts. But the key during this time is turning to God through prayer, service, mass, bible study, a good friend or family member and allowing a moment of peace to wash over you.


My favorite verse to repeat during these stressful times is John 14:27, “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you… Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” Letting God in to give your heart and soul a break and trusting that everything happens for a reason is what can get you through stressful and tough times. Knowing that He is there for you and won’t put you through anything you cannot handle, can give you that peace you’ve been seeking. During stressful periods in your life you learn that the real challenge isn’t trying to deal with a broken water heater or a frozen computer, but rather to recognize your that there is peace to be found in the Lord as long as you turn to Him.


- Hannah

bottom of page