top of page

newbie runners welcome here

Updated: Jul 25, 2018


My running journey began about 4 years ago & since I have participated in many 5Ks, half marathons and 2 full marathons. Running is not everyone's favorite activity, so I decided to compile a list of a few tips to make running a more enjoyable and fun experience!



 



Start slow.

No reason to try to sprint & don't worry about pace. Focus on distance, not time. A mile is a mile whether it takes you 12 minutes or 7 minutes to run it!




Get some good running shoes.

They make the world of a difference. I currently run in New Balance, but I also love Brooks. Go to a running store and don't be afraid to try on many pairs before choosing the ones you want. I honestly dread shopping for running shoes, because it takes me over an hour to find the perfect pair.




Find some friends.

Running with other people makes running 10000 times better! There are running groups all over the place, so do yourself a huge favor and find a squad to run with.



Walk.

That's right, I said it, WALK. You don't need to run the entire time to be a "runner". I started running by using a walk/run approach & I had to do the same thing for the last 10 miles of my last marathon. It doesn't make you any less of a runner, so walk if you need to.


Set a goal.

Whether it's running for 10 minutes without stopping or your first 5K, having a goal will help motivate you to get out there even when you don't want to. If you're just starting running, set a goal to run for 30 minutes without stopping. Once you have achieved that goal, go ahead and sign up for your first 5K! Make sure your goals aren't too crazy so they're reachable.



Don't run every day.

Even when I trained for a marathon I didn't run every day. Your body needs rest days as well as active days, so make sure to listen to your body and rest when you need to. I usually run 3 days each week and do other activities to stay active throughout the rest of the week. Biking and rock climbing are some of my favorite non-running activities.


& last but not least... HAVE FUN!



bottom of page