top of page

how i ran a marathon only training 2 days a week

... and without a training plan.


If you know me, you know I am a planner.

I follow a schedule and make list upon list every day.

But this summer I ran my second marathon and I did two things I thought I would never do...


1. I didn't follow a plan.

2. I only ran 2 days each week.


 

Most people train for 16-20 weeks and run 4-6 days every week to prepare for their marathon. They put in hours on their feet, obsess over their calorie intake, buckle down on their sleep schedule, and foam roll like crazy. When they get to race day they feel excited, nervous, and question if they did enough.


I've been that person.


Two years ago, I did everything right. I ran 2-3 times during the week, biked on my off days, stretched and foam rolled daily, ate as healthy as I could, slept for 9+ hours every night, and kicked out a long run every weekend. I did the deal, and I showed up to race day excited, nervous, and questioning if I could really run 26.2 miles.


What I didn't mention, is that I was also exhausted every day of those 18 weeks. All of that focus and training not only wore out every muscle in my body, but also all of my emotions. I stressed myself out trying to be so focused on doing everything right, and it weighed me down.


After I finished my first marathon, I was crazy proud of myself, but also ready to be done. Ready to let go of the training schedule, the hours spent exercising, and the complete focus I had on doing everything right. I realized that marathons are hard no matter how you prepare. No amount of training can prepare you for those last 6 miles, so why did I put so much pressure on myself?


 

This spring, I was in pretty good shape. I ran a half marathon with my running bff, Anna, then completed a 25K with another very good running buddy. I figured "if I can run 15.5 miles, I can run 20"... then once I ran a 20 miler, I decided 26.2 isn't much further. So I signed up for a marathon at the end of June.


My training consisted of a run around 4 miles during the week and a long run on the weekend. I only did 2 runs over the half marathon distance in preparation for the marathon, but I wasn't injured, stressed, or worn out. I filled my spare time with rock climbing and biking, but nothing too crazy. And I had a life outside of marathon training, which I didn't have the first time around either.


Come race day I was still excited, nervous, and questioning if I could run the distance. The race was HARD. I hit my wall around 15 miles, and struggled to the finish line. But I did it. I finished.



And that's the point of it, right?

To finish; whether it's after following a training plan to the T or just running.


What training for a marathon the second time around taught me, was that you don't need to plan every second to be successful. When I let go of my plan, I ended up in the same place I was two years ago before the race; excited, nervous, and questioning if I was ready. The difference was that without the stress of being so focused and planning each day of training, I was a whole lot happier and less worn down.


Isn't it the same with life? God tells us "Many are the plans in a person's heart, but it is the LORD's purpose that prevails" (Proverbs 19:21). I could plan and plan and plan all day long, but that isn't going to make a difference. God has a plan for my life that will prevail. I honestly find that my day is filled with so much more joy and peace when I allow God to speak to me and guide my day than when I try to plan out every second. When I allow the Holy Spirit to direct my steps, I feel His presence more and find more of His joy.


And God promises goodness for us. He promises that His plans are good, giving me even more reason to follow His plan and not try to establish my own.

"For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future". (Jeremiah 29:11)

Basically what I am trying to get across is that God's got it all in His hands. He's teaching me more and more every day that I don't need to obsessively plan my day out down to the minute. I just need to trust that He will guide me along.


How did I run a marathon only training 2 days a week without a training plan?

I allowed God to guide my steps, and truly accepted the verse that says:

There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens.

(Ecclesiastes 3:11)


He has a time. He has a plan. He knows what is good. He will provide.



bottom of page