top of page

date night cooking: jambalaya

Probably my absolute favorite thing about living in an apartment and not a dorm is having a kitchen. I've made all sorts of delicious food this past semester; like chili, fajitas, cornbread, and even venison meatloaf.


Since it's date night and Drew and I would rather stay in and cook together than go out, we decided to give jambalaya a try.

Drew had Jambalaya for the first and only time in Louisiana, and love it. I have never had it, but was pumped to try something new!


I never really measure stuff when I cook, and we only kinda followed a recipe... but it turned out AMAZING!!! Drew said to "add it to the books", aka my box of recipes, so I figured I'd make it into a blog post as well.



Jambalaya

Yield: 6 servings
Total time to prepare: about an hour


 

Ingredients

1lb Chicken 14oz. Crushed Tomatoes

Hot Sausage 1.5C Rice (uncooked)

Cooked Shrimp 3C Chicken Broth

2 Bell Peppers 3 TBS Minced Garlic

2 Jalapenos Cajun Seasoning

1 Onion 5 TBS Siracha

2 Celery Stalks 3 TBS Worcestershire Sauce


 

Directions

1. In a large pan, cook sausage in oil with Cajun seasoning.

2. Cook Chicken in the same pan with Cajun seasoning.

3. Chop up peppers, jalapenos, onion, celery & sauté in a separate pan.

4. Once vegetables are cooked, add in garlic and take off of heat.

5. In a large pot, combine chicken, sausage, sautéed vegetables, crushed tomatoes, siracha, and Worcestershire sauce. Cook for 5 minutes.

6. Add in rice and chicken broth. Let it cook for 25-30 minutes.

7. Cut shrimp into smaller pieces, then fold into pot. Cook for about 5 minutes

8. Take the pot off of the heat and let it sit for 5-10 minutes, then dig in and enjoy!


The recipe calls for 5 TBS of siracha, but Drew added about 1/2C to our pot when I wasn't looking, so it was pretty HOT. I recommend having a glass of milk nearby. We also dipped garlic bread in it, which was pretty tasty too!

I hope you enjoy it!

bottom of page