top of page

overwhelmed by You.

Let me tell you about my first 2 weeks of nursing school...


During the first week the teachers went on strike, we had a tornado warning & constant rain, and I was assigned 30 chapters of readings.

I let myself be completely overwhelmed by the mass amounts of reading, the pressure to get over a 79% to pass, and the expectations of others to be a social butterfly.

I cried on Drew's shoulder more times then I'd like to acknowledge after the first week of classes.


I just felt exhausted, worn down, and overwhelmed.


Week 2 was a little better... less rain, an all-campus power outage, and 3 quizzes on the horizon with exams in just over a week. I felt a little less worn out but still overwhelmed.


Every time I went into the Word, I felt God's tug on my heart. As I read through the book of 1 Peter, He reminded me of the joy of God that comes through trials in life.


So be truly glad.

There is wonderful joy ahead,

even though you must endure many trials for a little while.

These trials will show that your faith is genuine.

1 Peter 1:6-7 NLT


The trials of this world are temporary and storms only last for so long. The tornado warning only lasted for about an hour. The power outage was resolved in time for our Wednesday night Bible studies to meet. And I was able to skim-read the 30 chapters before classes met Tuesday morning.

Trials of this world are short lived in comparison to the joyful hope of eternity promised by our Savior.


I realized that when I let myself become overwhelmed by the trials and challenges of this world, I am cheating myself out from the joy Christ offers me. God doesn't want me to be overwhelmed by the world, He wants me to be overwhelmed by Him. When my focus and energy is on the Lord, I am able to see the many blessings He gives me, and know His love and joy more fully.


When I focus on the world, and what is going "wrong'' or stressing me out, I am neglecting the fact that my Father is all-loving and all-powerful. He works all things for His good, and He cares for all of His children.


So humble yourselves under the mighty power of God,

and at the right time he will lift you up in honor.

Give all your worries and cares to God,

for he cares about you.

1 Peter 5:6-7 NLT


We are called to be humble and dependent on God. He wants to help us through trials in life. He wants us to come to Him with arms open saying, "God, I need your help". He doesn't want us to live life stressing over our circumstances. With the gift of His Spirit, He has enabled us to experience the fullness of joy. The joy of the Lord isn't dependent on our circumstances, it is steadfast, just like His love.


It is so easy to let life become overwhelming. It's easy to allow trials to wear you down and result in crying on someone's shoulder, but God calls us to a higher calling. When we are worn down, He calls us to find our strength in Him. When we are tired, He calls us to re-energize in His word.


I want to be so overwhelmed by God that even when I face trials in life, I am joyful, because I know He is working for my good.


From left to right: my amazing roommates, family dinner in the apartment, rainy run with Anna, study group showing off their choose joy stickers, calligraphy & coffee, Sundays spent with Drew!

bottom of page