top of page

choose joy.




Growing up I was known for my smile. Everywhere I went people commented on my big smile and then joked about how much my parents spent on it. Earlier this year, I was at a campus ministry group meeting. A friend of mine came up to me and told me that she admired my smile. She told me that she noticed that I smiled not because I was happy, but because I had joy.


Happiness is a feeling that comes and goes, but joy is a fruit of the Spirit. Joy doesn't come and go. Joy is always present, always radiating through what we say and do.

I wear my smile proudly, not because of my teeth or because it's "pretty", but because it reflect the joy inside of me.

.

A happy heart makes the face cheerful.

Proverbs 15:13


I tend to be a happy person. I'm human and have days when I am not happy or cheerful, but most days I have a smile on my face. My smile isn't just for show, it's a reflection of the joy in my heart that I choose to show every day.


Choosing joy means choosing to radiate Christ in all we say and do. Choosing joy is not letting the enemy bring us down on a hard day, but instead smiling through it and finding our strength in Christ. It is allowing the joy in your heart to shine through to others.


I recently read a quote that said "There's always a reason to smile, find it".


That reason for me is Christ. The joy of the good news, the promise of everlasting life, that's what gives me joy. Knowing that I am a daughter of God and that He loves me unconditionally gives me joy. Having hope and finding strength in God gives me joy. Knowing that I am living for and serving an amazing Father gives me joy.


Life is filled with good days and bad days. In the midst of it all, choose joy.


bottom of page