top of page

flat tire moments


The other night I was driving home, and it was pretty late (like 11:30 or so). I was about 2 miles from my house when I noticed my rear tire felt funny. I pulled over, checked it out, and nothing was wrong. Feeling a little uneasy, I got back on the road & WOOOOSSHHH. My tire popped.


I pulled into the closest parking lot, and got out of my car to see a sad flattened tire. My first response was to call Drew, but knowing he had to be up for work super early the next day, I didn't do that. I called my brother, who also had to be up early for work, but he didn't answer. So I called my mom. If my parents didn't live an hour away they would've been my first call, but since they are so far away, I knew they couldn't do much to help me besides calling Jake over and over until he woke up. (He never did answer.)


So I called Drew.


It was obvious that I woke him up by the sound of his voice, but when I told him what happened all he said to me was, "I'm on my way".


About 20 minutes later, Drew's truck pulled up next to my car. He got out with a smile on his face and said, "You don't have to stab your tire with a knife for an excuse to see me again". I laughed and headed for his passenger side, but he headed for the bed of the truck. I didn't know what he was doing, until he grabbed some tools and proceeded to jack up my car, remove the popped tire, and replace it with the spare.


I was shocked. I honestly expected him to show up not especially happy (because he was sleeping & had an early morning) and drop me off at my house leaving, my car in the parking lot for the night. But instead he showed up with a joyful heart and smile on his face, and he went above and beyond to fix what was broken and send me on my way. He sacrificed over an hour of sleep to help me get home safely.


That right there is the love of Jesus.


We all have "flat tire" moments; times when we feel lost, alone, stranded, unsure of where to go or what to do. We drive along for a while with a tire that feels unsteady, until it pops and we can't move anymore. We don't know who to call, and can sometimes fear calling on the Lord.


But Jesus loves us, and His love is sacrificial and unconditional.


He comes to us with joy to help fix what's been broken. He gladly takes off the ruined and flattened pieces, and replaces them with something new. Then he sends us on our way, with Him in our hearts, to continue the life He started within us.


Think of the cross.


Christ did not have to die on the cross, but He did. He sacrificed His life so that you and I could have the promise of eternity. It wasn't easy for Him, and He could have easily made excuses why He didn't want to do it, but He loves you and I so much that He chose to give of Himself.


And he calls us to follow His example.


Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.

Ephesians 5:1-2


Drew showed me an example of Christ by changing my tire. He could've made excuses when I called him, but just like Christ, He came to help me right away. He could've showed up frustrated that he had to get out of bed and drive 20 minutes to bring me home, but he showed up with a joyful heart. He didn't have to change my tire, he could have just brought me home, but he chose to go above and beyond to get me back on the road. That's what Jesus does. In our brokenness, he makes us new.


Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come.

2 Corinthians 5:17




bottom of page